Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Finding A Job: Harder Than Getting Off Crack

It is just me, or does anyone else find it immensely ridiculous what one has to go through these days, just to find a job? I am finding that with my growing displeasure with my current employment that I am out and about, putting feelers here and there. Nothing extremely serious, but still frustrating none the less.

Not only am I depressed with my current situation, but just poking around is adding to the depression. It seems that every job now requires everything they can possibly (and legally) get their hands on. It’s amazing they do not ask for you to name your first born child after their company, in order to secure a ‘first round’ interview.

Oh yes, there’s more than one round now. Now you not only have to submit a complete application, a resume, a cover letter, a list of references and what they prefer to eat, dress, and think—you will also be put through numerous torturous interviews, with thirty different people, that once you actually get the job, you will never see again; and will have no impact on your job what-so-ever.

I remember the good old days, where you typed up your resume and it didn’t matter the length or the style of font or the paper it was on; simply list what you did at your last couple of jobs. You’d meet ONE person; have a delightful chat to go over what was on your resume. They’d tell you right there and then if you were hired or not, and if not, you still left with a sense of accomplishment.

Now? Your entire self esteem gets crushed in the very first attempt at contact. People are rude; they know they have a market and they can be complete assholes to you. Yet, you have to take it and act like you enjoy it; because let’s face it, you need the job, they don’t need you.

They put you through the ringer, just to see if you’ll last to the end. Level after level of tests, questions, examinations of bodily fluids… the test of all time; can you get blood from a rock? Then, in the very end … “I’m sorry; you’re just not qualified for this position.” Or my favorite, “We think you are TOO qualified for this position.”

Let’s take the first one, shall we? Ok, I am not qualified because NO ONE will hire me to GET the qualifications. So, of course I am not qualified. Doesn’t matter that I have a degree on my back, have done this type of work before, and am a quick learner… the fact that YOU don’t think I am qualified, along with every other company I have tried, will keep me unqualified and in this hell forsaken RUT for the rest of my LIFE. (The whole topic of degrees will be for another ‘tantrum’)

Now, let’s take the overqualified. Alright, I am too qualified for this job; doesn’t that mean I can definitely do this and then some? Wouldn’t’ you want someone who was over qualified for the position, because then you know for sure, the crap is going to get done and done well?

In the end, it’s all bullshit. They’re the puppet masters and we’re the puppets. We’re at their beck and call, and will do whatever they say, because we so desperately need a job, and yet they somehow get great satisfaction out of this. It’s only when they get to the point of ‘desperation’, do they turn around and just hire any joe-shmo!

That’s the person that you know, that somehow got the best job in the entire world, without any experience what-so-ever, and you sit there and scratch your head wondering how the hell that happened? Yeah… that’s the person who applied JUST when they got desperate, and they got lucky.

See folks, it’s all about timing and has nothing to do with your abilities, intelligence, or personality. If an ad has been in the paper two or three days, don’t even bother. If it’s been a good six or eight months, go for it! (Don’t quote me on that :D)

No comments:

Post a Comment